#CrossEqualsLove |Poetry by Ranx @SwagNation_Ke

Thou Art

Before I met you, I was a neat mess
I was a reptile without scales
I was a cold blooded animal spitting venom in terms of profanity insulting people as if my insults were compliments and I honored it, I honored my words,
I took shots of rage from an absent father and drank to my fill, staggered my bitter soul down the runway that was painted in hatred without the fear of falling.
My staggering soul couldn’t help me that much so I got lost while trying to find direction from a broken compass,
While trying to compose colors out of faded walls,
Walls that freely offered silence form they were only structures that pretended to care about my loneliness,

I was equally quiet, I couldn’t express my views vividly instead,
I would down them with booze with the hope of waking up to a sober mind,
I used to fly across oceans of sadness and controversy,
Questioning your love since those who claimed to be your people were so religious,
I heard that their version of loving was segregation
They segregated our struggles while hiding behind the words of Saint Luke,
So I often found myself as the Malcom x in parliaments full of rabbis and scribes,
Yelling don’t shoot on the non-believers who were guilty of their innocence which was branded ignorance for they knew not about your existence,
For you were not a spirit whose presence could only be felt by the righteous ones nor an icon whom preachers and C.R.E teachers could emulate,
Your presence was omnipresent,
But who could listen to the epitome of disaster
Who could listen to an antagonist character who had several manuscripts of what his dooms day looked like, who could listen to a white washed tomb with solid bones,
Who could listen to stories of fortune narrated by tragedy who could listen?
And then I met you, I remember,
Blood rushed to my brain like a broken elevator, adrenalin held my voice captive
Anxiety had its hand on my heart and like a drum it beat in several tempos,
I was trapped at the tricks of time trying to figure out what was happening,
I couldn’t get a good look on you,
Your face was bloody, your skin was peeling off, the earth was shaking, curtains split and for three hours straight darkness had conquered the world.

You were surrounded but you felt alone
You sought for a father who had left you alone ,
The fragrance of the cologne you received on your birthday was now a sweaty stench of one whose back had carried fifty plus kilograms of lust of deceit of murder and false accusations on his back so I stood by watched a man of steel take three nails to his palms and his feet,
For when they insulted you, you didn’t insult back when they slapped you, you turned the other cheek and when they mocked you, and your volume remained mute

You took a gulp of the bitter cup without the fear of choking,
You’re the King who made family out of subjects and yet we spat on the plates we fed on,
Your soldiers had loaded rifles that engaged in friendly fire instead of fighting off enemies,
Some well most of them didn’t fight for you and I am sure they will regret it till their dying days,
For you were a worthy leader one who was resuscitated to eternity one who backed is prophecy with actions one who existed uniquely in a faction of twelve, himself he who turned Jeremiahs lamentation into Isaiah’s praise for when you came all we said was unto us a savior is born.

So I always wave my monkey hands while praising you shouting in joy like a sane man gone bananas because this lunatic has a new straight jacket one that is full of love full of peace and satisfaction so excuse me Lord for my madness your love drives me crazy.
Your bloody inscriptions made a masterpiece of a sinful man so poetry is not just genre I use to speak to you it is also a way of showing the world how great thou art is

Leave a comment